Trails Around Leeds?

5Thumbs
5Thumbs Posts: 88
edited April 2009 in Routes
Bit of a newbie here....

Just wondered where I could get some info on the above. Ideally blue to red standard so I can take my 12 year old with me (who am I trying to kid - hes more confident than I am!).

We're off to Dalby forest next week but it would be great if there was something a bit closer to home. Ideally single track through woods etc rathert than BMX type jumps (though I'm sure he would prefer that!)

Cheers

Comments

• micken
    micken Posts: 275
    Try Harewood there are good, safe bridleways within the grounds and single track access from the Eccup end.

Whereabouts in Leeds do you want?
  • 5Thumbs
    Thanks

In terms of whereabouts - not too worried. I live in North Leeds right by Roundhay park but I'm happy to travel a few miles (cant help feeling there must be stuff around Otley/Ilkley). Was hoping for somewhere nearer than Dalby Forest but which is still a good off road ride.

Stainburn is fine distance wise but looks a bit too hard for me and my lad.

Will certainly give Harewood a try.
  • bells0
    bells0 Posts: 414
    Give the chevin a go - no massive, but nice and easy for children and some great views out over the Aire valley. Plenty of little routes through the trees. Can be a lot of dogs and walkers about at the weekend though.
  • It kinda depends if you wanna stick to the legal bridleways too. I grew up riding the meanwood valley trail in adel woods, the chevin, roundhay park, in fact there's loads near you. There's a book or two of trails in west yorkshire published about ten or more years ago. Also check bikely and if you're still struggling i'll post a few on there myself. Stainburn's great by the way, once you've got those trails nailed not much else comes close.
  • http://www.ernest-press.co.uk/mtb_mbgwyorks.html

That's the one. Plenty of routes near you and I reckon the original will still be relevant if you can't wait for the new revised version.