Bike Pointers / How many of you ride women specific bikes?

Anonymous
Anonymous Posts: 79,667
edited April 2009 in Women
Hiya!

I havent had a bike for a few years and looking for my first decent Mountain bike. I had a Saracen Awol last time and didnt get on with it very well.

I'm looking to spend around the 500 mark to get a good hardtail. I like the idea of a full susser and saw this Specialized Myka FRS Comp 08 Model deal but a lot of people are saying hard tail is best and you learn more from starting out on one. Don't know if you agree on that? I havent ridden a bike for a few years and I'm still new to it all so I'm looking for a decent starting point.

Hard Tails I'm looking at are the Specialized Myka Elite 08 Model The 08 Myka Expert seems to have better parts but still Mechanical Discs as apposed to Hydraulics. And I don't like the look of the paint job.

So if I went up a grade I'd go for the 09 Myka Expert and try to get a good deal. It's much better looking and has Hydraulics as well as the better parts.

At my level are Hydraulics really important? Or would Mechanical Discs do the job fine? If I wanted to upgrade the bike to Hydraulics in the future can I do that on any bike or is it costly?

And the difference in parts, I'm really looking at the gears and forks. If I'm getting Rockshox at this stage, does it really matter what level of rockshox I get? Tora's or Darts? Or are the Dart 3's pretty good?

At the moment I'm tempted by the 08 Myka Elite deal. I'm trying to read up on the parts to make sure I get a decent bike but being new I don't know I would even notice the difference.

I've looked at some trek's also but I'm not sure I'm gonna stretch that far at the moment.