Hip Pain - Is it my bike?

powerful pierre
powerful pierre Posts: 9
edited April 2009 in Road beginners
Hi There

Im 63, overweight and a complete newbie to road biking.
Up until august last year i had not ridden a bike for about 40 years.
In august i bought a trail bike and apart from finding it hard work it wasn't too bad except for the usual numb bum and sore thighs.

Have just now changed for a brand new Giant Defy 4 and have to make it work for me cos i cant afford another change. I did change the saddle for a Selle Royal Freccia Premium.
Think i have saddle height and forward position set up ok although i am getting some tightness and cramp behind my upper calfs.
Saddle is only about 40mm above bar stem.

Before going any further i have to say that i know i am not fit and and am well over weight (which is why ive started cycling and dieting).
Got the Defy 6 days ago and been out on it only 3 times (its so much faster than a trail bike....wow). Longest ride was yesterday at 14 miles (im still learning) and took in 5 or 6 good hills that i must admit i struggled with.
During this ride and obviously on the hills my hips (actually i think its the muscles in my hips) hurt and felt on fire......after a couple of minutes break the burning subsided and i could carry on. And so it was for the rest of the ride.
Today my legs were still aching so i only did a quick 6 miles mostly on the flat, but a few gentle hills brought on the hip burn again.

NOW TO THE POINT...Is the burning hip muscle a normal thing to expect especially bearing in mind my lack of fitness and need to get some miles in.....have other people suffered with it and more to the point will it disappear with practice or do you think that there might be something wrong with my bike set up?? I really want to enjoy my riding and so this is very important for me.

PeterG

Comments

• guilliano
    guilliano Posts: 5,495