Scotland Tour

cjms85
cjms85 Posts: 24
edited April 2009 in Tour & expedition
Hi everyone,

I'm planning to do a 5 day tour of Scotland, or at least part of it in early May. I'll probably be setting off from Fort William and working out some kind of circuit root, although at this stage its all very sketchy.

Basically I need some advice as to what equipment I would need for a 5 day tour, as I've never done anything like this before. Also if anyone else is interested their more than welcome to join me, as its always good to have some company on these things.

Obviously I'm goning to need a pania to put things on the back of the bike. Water and food are also vital, although I imagine that much of this can be procured along the way. Compass, maps, phone, high viz, appropriate clothing etc.

I'm thinking of staying at bothies to reduce weight, so that I won't need to take a tent with me but where can i find the locations of bothies? People must have done this sort of thing before, where would you recommend to look for more information?

Any help and advice would be great,

Cheers, Chris

Comments

• LittleB0b
    LittleB0b Posts: 416
    There aren't many bothies* near roads (and since you are asking in the road section i'm guessing it's not a MTB tour) - in fact i can't think of any - so it will be tent or SYHA - or some combination there of.

The advantage of bunkhouses/yha's is drying rooms and cooking facilities, and beding, which means you don't have to carry stove, sleeping bag ect. On the other hand camping is free - and you can just stop where you ike. But if you are having to buy additional waterproof paniers to carry stuff in - the cost of SYHA could be cheaper for a one off.