bottom bracket cable guides

TheHatter
TheHatter Posts: 122
edited April 2009 in Road general
I have an old colnago master that I've nearly finished building however I'm concerned about fitting the cables. The frame has some brazed on eyes for threading the cable under the bottom bracket.
My knowledge of older frames is limited and threfore this may seem a silly question but does this mean the cables then simply rub on the frame of the bottom bracket? (there are grooves that suggest this is the case.
I'm used to frames where you simply bolt on the nylon cable guides and therefore the above seems a really nasty solution that will mess up the paint and the friction will risk chewing the cables?
Adding a cable guide doesnt seem to be an option as there is a clover leaf cut out where the bolt would normally go.

Comments

• pete.whelan
    pete.whelan Posts: 788
    yes, they rub on the paint, but I've never found it an issue. Keep them well oiled at that point and you should be ok
    Recipe: shave legs sparingly, rub in embrocation and drizzle with freshly squeezed baby oil.
  • TheHatter
    yes, they rub on the paint, but I've never found it an issue. Keep them well oiled at that point and you should be ok
    Thanks Pete - I'm off to finish the job now!
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    There should be some plastic tubing to protect the paint around the BB area.
  • itboffin
    itboffin Posts: 20,052
    Some frames are made this way, Dolan for one, seems odd but yes it shouldn't be a problem I use small frame protection patches.
    Rule #5 // Harden The Feck Up.
    Rule #9 // If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a badass. Period.
    Rule #12 // The correct number of bikes to own is n+1.
    Rule #42 // A bike race shall never be preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run.
  • TheHatter