Edinburgh to St Andrew's route

AMcD
AMcD Posts: 236
edited June 2009 in Road beginners
Hi, as of today I am in training for this event in June but am seriously worried about what hills to expect.

Can anyone help me out with the exact route? I've entered but don't know if you receive a route map with your number or whether you are expected to just follow the other cyclists? There's no details of the route on the LEPRA website and I didn't find any other info by googling.

I really want to know when to expect the hills and to be able to train on the actual route before the day.

I'm not really a beginner to cycling but I am to this type of distance, and being quite overweight every hill is an effort :oops: . Today I managed 11 miles but needed two stops - it was the flattest route I could find from my house and still a struggle :roll: .

Comments

• Crapaud
    Crapaud Posts: 2,483
    I wouldn't worry too much about the hills, AMcD. The worst one is at Loch Leven and it's more of a slog than difficult (the elevation profile in Steve928's link is deceptive). So long as you do some hills during your training you'll be fine.

It looks like a nice route. I saw them rolling into St Andrews a couple of years ago and everyone had big stupid grins on their faces. :D

What have you got planned training-wise?
    A fanatic is one who can’t change his mind and won’t change the subject - Churchill
  • AMcD
    Thanks very much Steve, that's really helpful.

Once I've copied the route to Anquet maps to get the elevations I'll know exactly where I'll be struggling :D .
  • shamey
    shamey Posts: 7
    AMcD wrote:
    Hi, as of today I am in training for this event in June but am seriously worried about what hills to expect.