Bianchi 1885 Veloce 10s Double

mr.g
mr.g Posts: 36
edited April 2009 in Road beginners
I'd like to introduce myself & say hi to everyone here! I'm from Wales and have a few questions to ask the "experts".

I'm a complete newbie to Road bikes but an avid MTB veteran (cross country) i've asthma (since i was 7) and haven't riden any bike since i was around 22 which was 10 years ago now - To the day actually as it's my Birthday (excuse the April 1st jokes please heard them ALL before).

I'm 6ft 1" or there abouts. I weight around (not really sure) 12.5 St. So medium/slim build.

Anyway. I'm thinking of getting (almost certain i will be) a Bianchi 1885 as it says in the thread title. My questions are:

1. Is this bike a suitable bike for myself taking into consideration the above measurements.
2. Is this bike a good one?
3. Are the components up to scratch?
4. Are there any other bikes you'd recommend to me taking into consideration the price range of the Bianchi.

I'm being advised by my doctor that my asthma is getting worse. I used to smoke (stoooopid i know) and i'm wanting to de-stress by being alone & out on the open road with just me and my machine! I've been given pills to control my asthma now and am being told that it's the next stage up in treatment, i hope that i don't have to be given a nebuliser etc. As that would make things really bad for me. Relying on something.

I wish to become fit again and think this is a very good way of doing so. I used to be super fit, riding (cross country) around 30/50 miles per day back 10 years ago and i've never been so unwell as i am today. I find just a short run now leaves me very tired and breathless.

I'm here asking the "experts" as you people know all about bikes and the fitness side of it all.

I thank anyone for taking the time to read this and also if you reply!

Many thanks

Mr.G

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123