Thinking about a Rock Lobster

zerolight
zerolight Posts: 155
edited April 2009 in MTB buying advice
Hi Guys, Forum Newbie here.

I'm thinking of buying a bike. It's been about 6 years since I've ridden, with the last bike being a medium (18") Gary Fisher Sugar 2 Full Susser. I'm looking at the Rock Lobster, at the moment. I think I've missed the boat with my companies cyclescheme for another year thanks to procrastination. Anyway, I see that Merlin do some interest free options, so that might save me.

Few questions if you guys can help.

1. What size would you recommend - I'm 6ft, 34" inside leg, and was comfortable on the medium Sugar 2. I found the 19" Orange P7 slightly big, and the 20" Rock Hopper I had before that too big. I'm guessing the 19" Rock Lobster is probably about right, with the 17" being too small, or should I really be looking at the 17"?

2. How does the SLX and XT stuff compare with say a mix of SRAM X0 rear mech, X9 triggers, front mech, SRAM Cassette, etc? It's been a really long time since I kept up with what was good, but it seems like the Avid Elixr R's are a nice set of brakes, with the X9/X0 providing a nice set of gears?

I'd likely leave the rest of the spec as Merlin's default - Rock Lobster Tig Team SL 09 frame in matt black, Race Face Evolve XC finishing kit, Mavic Factory Crossride Disc wheels, Rock Shocks Reba Race Forks, basically the spec on their website. So it's either Full XT, Full SLX, or the Avid/SRAM stuff.