New To This

archer4
archer4 Posts: 86
edited March 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi, al
I am new to MTB ive been riding a BMX all my life, Im 16 year old.
And need help with the basic of MTB any advise tips i would be greatful i ant no much at all about the bike its self like making adjustments etc. I ride a Coyote Demon my first MTB.
Here the link to my bike and what its has:
http://www.winstanleysbikes.co.uk/product/15025/Coyote_Demon_Bike_2008

Comments

• henryfuller
    henryfuller Posts: 360
    what exaclty is it you want to know though?
    Henry
  • What riding do you do?

Street
    Dirt
    XC
    ?
  • henryfuller
    henryfuller Posts: 360
    is that to archer4?

i ride/race xc personally. but im guessing your asking archer4!
    Henry
  • archer4
    I ride dirt and i want to know like the basic about it all like the parts of bikes how do you adjust the folks etc.
  • blakef111
    blakef111 Posts: 374
    right for those forks you only have one type of adjustment called "preload" if by dirt riding you will want a hard fork to pump into the transition, the preload however only affects where the bike sits when your static on the bike it essentially tunes how far into the travel your fork will begin to move at, for dirt jumping as your a beginner i would recommend twisting the preload towards the minus sign to achieve soft landings.
    but be ready to true those wheels a lot not sure if they will be tough enough for a beginner jumper!
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    a good place to start is http://www.parktool.com/repair/ as it lists everything about bike repair.

another place folk like to recommend is sheldon brown but i think he is websters.
  • archer4
    ok thanks for the help
  • archer4
    another question for you again, is the any like MTB dirt tournaments located in Essex?
  • blakef111
    what kind of dirt? dirt jump slalom or 4X ?
  • archer4
    slalom
  • blakef111