Has anyone experience of climbing Bury Hill?

sampras38
sampras38 Posts: 1,917
I will be visiting the South Coast in a few weeks near Arundel, and there is a pretty vicous looking hill nearby called Bury Hill. Has anyone climbed it...what's it like?

It's about 3km long, but 1km is supposed to be at 20% gradient. I'm relatively new to climbing and thought I'd give it a go as practice for the Wales Dragon ride in June, and the Jeox Plan in the French alps in July.

Is it really has bad as it looks?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• liversedge
    liversedge Posts: 1,003
    20% ? 'fraid not. I'd hazard a guess at between 5 and 8% at a pinch maxxing out at 10%. Horrid road - poor condition / bumpy and cars doing 60mph+ along the A29 just a few feet away.

There is a much quieter route up from the east but its not worth a trip for, it does have a little steep section but not much.

Sorry to be so negative.
    --
    Obsessed is just a word elephants use to describe the dedicated. http://markliversedge.blogspot.com
  • liversedge
    Come down to the Surrey Hills and you can find of 5, 8, 10, 16, 18 and 20% climbs - but nowhere near as long as you'll taste on the Dragon ride.

I've posted a pretty tasty tour of the hills route on my blog.
    --
    Obsessed is just a word elephants use to describe the dedicated. http://markliversedge.blogspot.com
  • sampras38
    liversedge wrote:
    Come down to the Surrey Hills and you can find of 5, 8, 10, 16, 18 and 20% climbs - but nowhere near as long as you'll taste on the Dragon ride.

Thanks for the reply. I've arranged to do the Surrey Hills a couple of times recently, with a couple of club riders, but for one reason or another they got cancelled. I'm sure I'll end up doing them in the next month or so. The route we had plotted was similar to yours, starting at Box hill.
  • sampras38
    liversedge wrote: