Help a total newbie

Quirky
Quirky Posts: 123
edited March 2009 in Road beginners
I'm totally new to the world of road cycling, I've always been more of a mountain biker but my brother has persuaded me to give it a try.

At first I considered just getting a hybrid as a compromise but now I'm swinging towards the road bike option. Just a couple of things though, I've definately not got a figure for lycra, so what's another option clothing wise, I don't want to look like a pleb wearing my baggies, but I don't want to offend every pair of eyes that I ride past by wearing lycra, is there any middle ground?

Also, I'd quite like to use my new bike as a commuter occasionally too so would this be practible?

By the way, the bike I'm looking at is the Trek 1.7 Triple

Any help is appreciated folks :D
weight.png

Comments

• Quirky
    Anyone?
    weight.png
  • STEFANOS4784
    STEFANOS4784 Posts: 4,109
    Once you're on the bike it doesn't matter what you look like!
    I'm as skinny as a rake and my wormates didn't appreciate me turning up in bib tights as they can be a bit revealing :oops:
    I don't care but for the sake of my workmates i just put a pair of super thin cut off combats over the lycra 8)

I've seen all sorts of figures on bikes, don't worry they're all just jelous 8)
  • LittleB0b
    LittleB0b Posts: 416
    I can't help much with the clothing choice

but i can help with the signature:

after the first url insert = and remove the first ]

p.s its about comfort not looks - but consider lyrca on the bottom half at least
  • Quirky
    Signature fixed, cheers

I'd be quite happy riding in baggies, I normally where lycra shorts underneath anyway, I just don't want to look like a fool!

A lycra top is out of the question, I'd rather die! I'd wear tights but I'd still feel the need to cover up with some shorts, at least until I lose a few pounds
    weight.png
  • STEFANOS4784