British made steel framed road bikes?

Meonwara
Meonwara Posts: 2
edited March 2009 in Road buying advice
Hi there,

I'm getting back into cycling after several years and I am also new to Bikeradar so forgive me if the two questions I want to ask sound daft or have been asked before.

Firstly I am thinking of buying a new bike, not for anything competitive, just for swift progress around town and fun on country roads. I have a rough idea of what I like which involves a lugged steel frame of traditional style and I would really like it to be British made. Could anyone list companies that fit the bill?

Secondly, in my view most of the modern frames I see are rather ugly and look a bit like kids BMX frames, why are they like this?

I do have a couple of old bikes, a Pashley (nice but ludicrously heavy) and my old 10 speed racer that I rebuilt years ago but it really isn't a great quality machine. I guess I'm looking for something like the latter but better.

Thankyou

Comments

• croggy
    croggy Posts: 116
    http://www.woodrupcycles.com/
    Great frames and good service.Highly recommended.
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    Loads of good steel frames. Some very good frame builders, although not all use lugs anymore. Try bob jackson, i know a few people with really nice BJ frames.
  • sicrow
    sicrow Posts: 791
    I'd add Brian Rourke in Stoke on trent to that list as well
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    You can add Chas Roberts and Paul Hewitt to your list too. Be wary, there are some 'UK' builders who have the frames built abroad and then just get them painted and sticker-up in the UK.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • cedargreen
    cedargreen Posts: 189
    I can recommend getting a custom built steel frame.

I got a Brian Rourke a couple of years ago, the whole experience was a pleasure, I spent a whole afternoon getting sized up and choosing components etc.