Willing to be a guinea pig for someones fitness experiment

Anonymous
Anonymous Posts: 79,667
edited April 2009 in Health, fitness & training
Don't know if I will regret this but.....

I am a hardtail MTB rider.

I am 6ft and 14st. Resting HR is 57bpm.

I am willing to partake in a fitness schedule if anyone out there is willing to help.

Thing is I need a little help and advice also and it would be good coming from someone, say a sports science student on this regarding a fitness routine.

I am looking to do an endurance/ordnance survey event on May 10th that will mean hulking my Hardtail (14.4kg) bike around hills and trails for approx 5-6 hours.

I will probably regret this.... I've spoken with my local gym fitness instructor however they are more interested in the treadmill and dont do cycling.

Any help from someone who is willing to do a schedule for me then that would be cool.

Thanks in advance

Graeme

Comments

• owen_MTB
    owen_MTB Posts: 222
    Erm im no expert but...
    Sort out a training timetable, around 3 times a week if possible. One long ride, one short fast one and another to do with a specific area you need to improve on I.E Hills.
    Secondly sort out a diet. Up the carbs for energy (too many will leave you feeling lethargic however) up the protein for recovery and have a small balance of fats, fibre etc.
    Gym work maybe, work with squats, and leg presses with arounf 12-15 reps and around 3 sets. The treadmills will also help, as they will improve your recovery time and all round cardio. Core stability also, crunches, press ups, anything like that.
    Thats just my first ideas, ill let everyone else sort something better ;)
    It is a rough road that leads to the heights of greatness
  • owen_MTB wrote:
    Erm im no expert but...
    Sort out a training timetable, around 3 times a week if possible. One long ride, one short fast one and another to do with a specific area you need to improve on I.E Hills.