Endurance training and heart rate zones

sampras38
sampras38 Posts: 1,917
Hi all,

I was wondering if any of you more experienced riders could offer any advice on the right heart rate zones to train in for endurance. I'm relatively new to more serious bike training, having been bitten by the bug about a year ago, and for the time being at least tend to ride alone.

I've always been quite heavily into fitness of one kind or another, so understand about the benefits of training in the right zones, but I'm a little clueless when it comes to bike specific stuff.

A little about me and my current stats..

Weight-wise I've gone from a heavy but muscular 15,10, to my current weight of 13st. I'm 6ft and so I guess I'm somewhere near a realistic maintainable weight, give or take a couple of pounds here or there. I'm probably the leanest I've ever been and looking to build up my training for the welsh dragon sportive in June, followed by a trip to the french alps in July to have a crack at the Jeoux plane and Cole Du Columbiere climbs. I've never done anything like this before, and so need some advice on how best to train. At the moment I'm mainly doing turbo work in the week, followed by a long ride at the weekend. Depending on family commitments I may do 2 rides at the weekend. So far I'm doing 50 or 60 mile rides, including some average climbs, and 50 miles tends to take me just shy of 3 hours. I tend to ride with a Garmin 705 GPS, and wondered if anyone could offer any advice about which heart rate zones to train in. I don't want to overtrain, but also want to improve as much as possible.

I ride a Scott CR1 Pro in good weather and Trek 1.2 in bad.

Sorry for the novel...and I really appreciate any advice.

sampras38

Comments

• roadrider84
    roadrider84 Posts: 335
    Pete,