Legal ruling on cycle helmets

13»

Comments

• alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    You're right Dirk (demonising HSE), the HSE even have a "Myth of the Month" section on their site to try and counter some of the rubbish the media comes out with:

http://www.hse.gov.uk/myth/
  • Christophe3967
    Christophe3967 Posts: 1,200
    alfablue wrote:
    No politician will ever state what would be an acceptable level, however (not if they wish to stay in politics)..

Interestingly, as a resident I am being consulted by Ealing Council about a zebra crossing at our local primary school. They state (I think) that their objective is to reduce from 2000-2010 the number of deaths and serious accidents on the road by 50% (for children the figure was 60%) and if I recall correctly they are slightly behind their target. I think these are TFL figures and apply across London.
  • always_tyred
    always_tyred Posts: 4,965
    The reason the trains are packed on that particular line is because there are so few lines - okay, the Haymarket - Slateford direction splits to go north, to Stirling and to Glasgow, but that's not a lot, given that they are connecting Glasgow (ca. 1.5million people), Edinburgh (ca. 0.75 million) and Stirling/Falkirk (a few hundred thousand?). Compare that to one small wedge of London!

Not nuclear - even if "country" is Scotland, rather than the whole UK. Its coal/gas.
  • wgwarburton
    wgwarburton Posts: 1,863
    The reason the trains are packed on that particular line is because there are so few lines - okay, the Haymarket - Slateford direction splits to go north, to Stirling and to Glasgow, but that's not a lot, given that they are connecting Glasgow (ca. 1.5million people), Edinburgh (ca. 0.75 million) and Stirling/Falkirk (a few hundred thousand?). Compare that to one small wedge of London!