Road bike / Mountain bike or in between?

CrazeUK
CrazeUK Posts: 10
edited March 2009 in Road beginners
Hi Guys.

I am totally new to cycling. Well when i say totally i have had bikes before but never taken it up seriously.

Now i have a planned few weeks off from next week (using up annual leave before end of march) so i was hoping to purchase a bike and take a trip on the roads.

My problem is i cannot decide between a road bike, a hybrid bike or a mountain bike.

The problem is that i live inner city manchester, so i cant really get off road that often excpet on weekends. Also i want to do Manchester to Bradford return in one day in the coming months.

The other issue is i also like Mountain (rough terrain) biking.

A friend has suggested i buy a new Road bike, and then once i get into it to go and purchase a good off road bike. But to be honest bikes are expensive and i dont have the space to store them.

What are peoples opinions? what are my options?
total novice

Comments

• Infamous
    Infamous Posts: 1,130
    If you only ride on the road, get a road bike. If you want to ride on mud then get a mountain bike.

Don't get a hyrbid, they are slow on the road and poor off road.
  • robmanic1
    robmanic1 Posts: 2,150
    +1, get both if your budget allows. Hybrids are the worst of both worlds.
    Pictures are better than words because some words are big and hard to understand.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/34335188@N07/3336802663/
  • CrazeUK
    Infamous wrote:
    If you only ride on the road, get a road bike. If you want to ride on mud then get a mountain bike.

Lol someone else said that too.

It appears to me it all boils down to three things:
    1. tyres
    2. the weight of the bike
    3. suspension
    My problem is i enjoy both on and off road. But then dont want to spend the money on two bikes nor have the physical space in the house for two.
    total novice
  • robmanic1
    What's "want" got to do with it, you NEED both!