Saddle help

jellikins
jellikins Posts: 153
edited March 2009 in Road buying advice
Got 3 months training left till do the Raid Pyranees and have a saddle prob.

Had a Bontrager Race Light that was uncomfortable.

Swopped it for an Selle Italia SLR Flow Gel - get to 40 miles mark and killing my arse.

Any suggestions anyone, both hurt on the bones bit either side on each cheek!

Going to be in saddle 8-9 hours in 3 months and stressed.

Comments

• ACMadone
    ACMadone Posts: 300
    Go to your LBS and see if they'll let you sit on any and try them out. I've tried a few and ended up with a San Marco Concor.
  • peanut
    peanut Posts: 1,373
    san marco concor is a very comfortable saddle. I have been using them for 10 years. The only saddles I know that are as comfortable is a San marco Rolls classic and an old Orange MTB saddle.
    some suggestions you might try wearing additional padded shorts over the top to double up on padding, Wearing a padded undershort under your usual shorts ,Sewing a spare pad inside your shorts . Try looking at some MTB saddles which tend to have more gel . Perhaps consider using a sprung seatpost.
  • softlad
    softlad Posts: 3,513
    saddle shape is far more important than how much padding it has. In the last few months I have switched to Charge 'spoon' and 'knife' saddles - got to be the most comfortable saddles I have ever ridden on.

Can't believe it has taken me 20 years to find a saddle that I really like...
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    I like the Spoon. V cheap too.

Pricier alternative is the Fizik range. Arione is good for me for 100 milers.
  • peanut
    peanut Posts: 1,373
    softlad wrote:
    saddle shape is far more important than how much padding it has. ...