Considering lower gears

185nick
185nick Posts: 57
edited March 2009 in Road beginners
Hi, I'm new to road riding and bought myself a Pinnacle Lagerra 1.0 a few weeks ago:

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/pin ... gn=froogle

I love the bike and am hooked already. However, not being the fittest person at the moment and living in a hilly area I've been considering changes to my drive chain to get some lower gears. I'm not sure of the best way to do this so was hoping you guys could give me some advice please? At the moment by bike has an FSA Omega compact mega exo chainset with 34/50 chain rings and Shimano 105 11-25T 10 speed cassette.

I've thought of two choices, the first is to change the cassette but sticking with a 105 10spd cassette means that I can only get a 12-25T or 12-27T. I'm not sure how advantageous the 2 extra teeth will be and also will I have to change my chain to get some extra length? The chain is new so shouldn't have any issues caused by wear.

My second choice is to change the chainset from compact to triple, I can get an FSA Omega Triple Mega Exo chainset with 30/39/50T. Being the same make and model as the chainset already on there will I get away with not changing the BB? Will I have to change my front mech? My front shifter is 3 spd so won't need to change this.

I read on this forum a couple of weeks ago about an adaptor to change a double chainset to triple:

http://www.spacycles.co.uk/products.php ... 0s149p1141

This would be the cheapest option if I don't have to make too many changes. Do you think I could get a 39T adaptor then stick a 30T inner chainring to it? Again would I need to change my front mech.

What option do you think is best please? Any help would be fantastic.

Many Thanks
Nick

Comments

• duncanw
    duncanw Posts: 24
    I think the easiest and cheapest method will be to replace your cassette.