Another "Which road bike?" thread

herraotic
herraotic Posts: 4
edited March 2009 in Road buying advice
Good evening.

I'm new to road cycling and wish to know which bikes you would recommend for around £600, exclusive of accessories and clothing. You can also consider all brands as I can access many shops. Thanks.

Comments

• Lagavulin
    Lagavulin Posts: 1,688
    You might find some good ideas on here.
  • herraotic wrote:
    Good evening.

I'm new to road cycling and wish to know which bikes you would recommend for around £600, exclusive of accessories and clothing. You can also consider all brands as I can access many shops. Thanks.

Give us a clue,What do you like the look of???? You must have some sort of Idea what brand you fancy?

600 smacka -roos is alot of cash rite about now my cocker
  • To be honest - I have no idea!

Well, I know of the big marques: Trek, Specialized and Giant. If someone could tell me some up-to-date information on which models of any company are decent at this price point; I would be very grateful.
  • Tino4444
    Tino4444 Posts: 281
    herraotic wrote:
    Good evening.

I had the same problem a few weeks ago and had the same budget.

I went to Evans Cycles who were very helpful and they recommended the following bikes from my price range:

* Speciallized Allez 18 2009
    * Trek 1.2

I tried them both and found that the Allez was a better feel for me, and so far its been excellent!! If you have not already I would deff recommend clipless pedals too as they make a massive difference to the performance.

I would suggest that you go to your local bike shop (Evans cycles were great for me) and speak with them, tell them what your after and give them your budget etc, but I would deff recommend you test ride the Allez!!

Tino.
    Speciallized Allez 09...great bike shame about the wheels!!
  • Rhods
    Rhods Posts: 400