First Commute of the Year - Slightly Marred

OrbitRider
OrbitRider Posts: 78
edited March 2009 in Commuting chat
Completed my first (10 mile) commute this year. (I've been hibernating on the bus for the last four months owing to Mrs O not liking me commuting in the dark). Beautiful morning: frosty, but clear skies, dry roads, little wind.

There's a roundabout about 7 miles out, with two lanes approaching. This morning, there were 4 cars in the left lane & a lorry & a car in the right lane as I came up. There was also a fellow cyclist just ahead of me. Realising that there was not enough space to safely filter, I took primary at the back of the queue. Not the other cyclist: he filtered up the inside of the first two cars, then switched to the outside & stopped at the head of the queue, between the car in the left lane & the lorry in the right. I thought "that's a dangerous place to be mate: you're right in the kill zone". Sure enough, the lorry pulled out pinning the cyclist between the lorry & the car. I heard a sickening crunch & held my breath, but fortunately the cyclist stayed upright. He managed to carry on across the roundabout. When I got through the roundabout, the cyclist was pulled over & was talking to the driver of the car that had been at the head of the queue. He seemed OK, but his rear MTB mudguard was pulled up & mangled. Even though I wasn't involved, it shook me a little & rather spoilt the commute. Hope the bloke learns some better cycling techniques.
FCN 7 (4 weekdays)
FCN 11 (1 weekday)

There is an old cyclist called Leigh (not me!)
Who's pedalling's a blur to see
So fast is his action
The Lorenz Contraction
Shortens his bike to a "T"

Comments

• graeme_s-2
    graeme_s-2 Posts: 3,382
    I think that would have scared me a bit too.

You should take heart from the fact that you avoided that position, and then predicted that the other cyclist was in a dangerous situation. Your cycling techniques did you proud.