Swapping cassettes

JLI
JLI Posts: 3
edited March 2009 in Workshop
I'm having a bit of bother with bigger hills in the Peak District and Pennines and I want to swap my 12-23 cassette for a 12-27. I've never done this before so I'd be very grateful for some advice. Do I need to get an 8 speed, like the existing cassette, and will I need a different chain (the bike is nearly new so the chain isn't at all worn).

Many thanks

John.

Comments

• Monza
    Monza Posts: 27
    Last week i had my first go at changing a rear cassette. I bought a chain-whip and lock ring removal tool from halfords for £14, and watched a vid on you tube. I cant post a link because i know nothing about computers but type in "how to change rear cassette" and bobs your uncle. The 8 speed cassette will match your 8 speed shifters.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    Good info on parktools linky in sig.

the cassette needs to be the same spd and make, or have the same spline pattern. Shimano/sram use the same.
    as you want to fit a bigger cassette you will need a longer chain if you intend on using the big cogs together (not good to do)
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • toslow
    toslow Posts: 85
    you may need to check that your rear mech will be ok to accept a larger lower gear , as i always thought, wrongly or rightly that a short cage mech was not suitable for a 27 tooth bottom gear . anyhow you will need a new chain im afraid.
  • John.T
    John.T Posts: 3,698