Cycling in the wet...

Simon1890
Simon1890 Posts: 117
edited February 2009 in Road beginners
Tried searching but couldn't find the answer to this...

I'm new to road bikes (less than 100 miles under my belt so far) but i'm loving it.

I want to ride more often but considering the weather i'm absolutely petrified of cycling in wet conditions. I'm far more used to riding MTB bikes with big chunky tyres keeping me on the road but the thought of going out on my Continental Ultra Sport tyres in wet conditions fills me with fear.

Can you guys tell me if cycling in the wet isn't as bad as i fear and do you have any reccomendations (without saying "buy tyres with tread on them)

I don't really want to start purchasing new treaded tyres, then go through the annoyance of swapping the tyres about everytime i want to ride depending on the weather.

So is it ok to go out on slick 23s in the wet or will i just have to go down the treaded route?

Cheers

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    FWIW big knobbly tyres in my experience offer less grip in the wet than skinny road tyres. Don't pump your tyres up to full pressure and try and keep your weight centred between the wheels and don't make any sudden direction changes or brake whilst turning. Keep all braking in a straight line before the turn. Experience and judgement is what gives you confidence.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • first the good news, you can't aquaplane you'd need to hit motorway speeds at the min.

bad news is road tires being so thin don't grip that well, so one needs to be sensible.

but on the whole if you don't mind the wet the bike should be fine, brakes are the worse really.
  • Cheers guys....i think i just need to give it a go really!!
  • tlw1
    tlw1 Posts: 21,860
    yep - get out there and find what speed feels right for you
  • Mettan
    Mettan Posts: 2,103