Cadence - whats the point?

Rudd
Rudd Posts: 264
edited February 2009 in Road beginners
I just got a new cycling computer which came with a cadence function. I didn't buy it for the cadence but thought since it had it might aswell use it! So whats the point of knowing your current and average cadence? How is it a trainiing aid. Do any of you try and aim for an average cadence while riding, how do you know what to target? Thanks

Comments

• I use the cadence function a lot for intervals when I'm training, or on the turbo, as a way of making sure I'm maintaining output.

Also a good way of measuring progress/fixing variables...... for example 80rpm in 42*19 on turbo gives xxxBPM.

SB
  • pneumatic
    pneumatic Posts: 1,989
    I'm no expert but my understanding is that cadence is about pedalling efficiency. On the flat, a reasonably fit rider should be able to turn out 80 or so and that seems to be better for the legs than grinding away at lower rate (in a higher gear).

When I got my first cadence computer, I tried to raise my cadence to about that level on training rides and it made a significant difference to my performance. On hills, it still drops to 60 or so, but that seems to be ok.

the magic figure is 92.6 (?). Boffins in Russia declare this to be the optimum cadence for a racing cyclist, but then, when was the last time they won anything?

When doing intervals, you can spin off up to 120 for a short burst, but probably not sustain it for very long.

Fast and Bulbous
    Peregrinations
    Eddingtons: 80 (Metric); 60 (Imperial)

• doyler78
    doyler78 Posts: 1,951