I am a cancer survivor...

BigSpecs
BigSpecs Posts: 309
edited June 2009 in The bottom bracket
...very Lance Armstrong I know (and we are all only too aware of the comments even the mention of his name provokes on here) BUT...I attended the Oncology Unit of my local hospital yesterday for my annual check up....and I was discharged!!
I have been attending for the last ten years (latterly only annually) since I suffered testicular cancer when I was 25. I was one of the lucky ones. I (only) had a seminoma, which was cured by surgery to remove the tumour and a course of radiotherapy (the joys, every night after work for a month, followed by copious vomitting, either on the way home or once I arrived home depending on my luck).
Since then I have had ten years of the occasional blood test, ultrasound and chest x-ray. In itself no hardship but each visit seemed to provoke incredible gut wrenching anxiety and obviously brought back memories of the initial diagnosis. I think there is always a fear that you are going to be told it is going to return, even now.
I feel very lucky (I now have two wonderful kids aswell as a wonderful wife) and I am very aware of how it could have all been so different.
I intend to do something special to celebrate. I am planning to do the Etape Caledonia (I have entered) later in the year and for a low mileage cyclist like me (small kids eat into your time!) that is a pretty big challenge. I am thinking of doing it for the Geoff Thomas Foundation. I'll keep you posted. In the meantime have a good one...
Col.

Comments

• softlad
    softlad Posts: 3,513
    edited January 2009
    difficult to know what to say to that col - except congratulations and much respect.. ;)

got to be worth a new bike, surely..?
  • BigSpecs
    You would think...but my wife took a wrong turn and ended up in the garage last week. I am still trying to explain why there are seven bikes and a tandem in there... :oops:
  • andrewjoseph
    andrewjoseph Posts: 2,165