Foot discomfort!

boz64
boz64 Posts: 81
edited January 2009 in Road beginners
Hi all

I'm relatively new to road cycling having ridden mtn bikes off and on for about 12 years. I've come back to cycling after a couple of years lay off.

My problem is this... after an hour or so on the bike (on road or trainer) I begin to get a bit of a hotspot/numbness in my right foot. The left one is absolutely fine. I have good quality shoes, and as far as I know I have the cleats set up properly. There is also 4.5 degrees of float in the cleats. I also believe I have the saddle set to the correct height etc. I am at a loss to work out why I get the discomfort in the right foot only. I hasten to add it is not really pain, just discomfort.

Could the saddle itself be to blame? Or maybe I have the cleats wrong? Or maybe my left leg is stronger than the right and the therefore the right is working harder? I don't have the same problem when riding my mtb.

I would appreciate any helpful suggestions or advice.

Many thanks.
Liverpool Mercury CC

Comments

• ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    Shoes too tight? You feet swell after a bit normally, could be your shoes become tighter due to the above, ride for 30mins then re-adjust
  • snakehips
    snakehips Posts: 2,272
    Do you have bad blood circulation ? I believe I have , I often get numbness in my finger tips.
    I have just done 30 miles on my road bike and the under side of my right foot hurt when I finished. I had the same problem two years ago when I went skiing. Funny thing is , today I was wearing the same long skiing socks as I was back then. Obviously these are a bit tight at the top , that's how they stay up. I am wondering if they limit the blood flow to my feet and exacerbate the situation.

regards.jpgfrom.jpgsnakehips.jpg
    'Follow Me' the wise man said, but he walked behind!
  • careful
    careful Posts: 720