Please Help: New front wheel for Scott Sportster P1 2009?

Zoowatch
Zoowatch Posts: 5
edited January 2009 in Commuting chat
Hi all,

I am still pretty shaken by the fact that my bike's front wheel got stolen just a while ago.

I am now looking for ways in which in could replace the front wheel of my new bike.

First of all, I must admit that I am quite new to cycling to work, and therefore I don't really know much about how the different bicycle parts are called, but I am willing to learn.

My bike is Scott Sportster P1 2009 hybrid bike, as seen in this link: http://scottusa.com/gb_en/product/2419/11793/sportster_p1

The thief have taken the whole of my front wheel, using the quick release.

I am based in Sheffield, UK, and I am looking at ways to get a new front wheel for my bike (preferably matching the hind wheel).

1. is to try to get my local bike shop to order a new wheel / hub / tyre from Scott distributor in the UK. This would be my first choice, but I am simply not sure if this is possible. What do you think? Do cycle distributors normally stock bike parts and spares? Will the bicycle shop which I first bought this bike from be willing to go the length and order one for me? Will it be better for me to settle for other brands for parts?

2. is to buy parts of other brands from my local bike shop. But I am really unsure that those parts will work well with the rest of my bike. Should I take this opportunity to upgrade to a better front wheel using better parts? Are the wheels of my bike road bike's wheels or a mountain bike's wheels? Because this bike uses disc brake, how can I get another one to work with my existing braking system? Hub, rims, tyre... what exactly do I need to buy? I have been looking at http://www.chainreactioncycles.com http://www.wiggle.co.uk and http://www.evanscycles.com Can you recommend me quality parts that I should buy as replacement? What are your opinion?