Buyer beware - Not a rant but pretty damn close

itboffin
itboffin Posts: 20,052
edited January 2009 in The workshop
I'd like to share this discover with you all that you might not suffer the same fate.

Just over a year ago I purchased a new Trek 1.7 from a small LBS in Salisbury, from the very start I was unsure with what i'd been sold, this was my first road bike and I'm new to cycling anyway. That aside I quickly discovered that this bike had not be set up at all and was in fact sold to me with flat tyres, poorly index gears and loose handlebars normally i'd take it back but at the time I considered those minor issues that I could fix.

No no no.......

During a ride this week it developed a squeak and one of the shifter gear cables came undone, I figured serious maintenance was required and today during a complete strip down I've discovered that the bottom bracket has been tightened to the point of no return.

The net result for me has been poor performance and reduced component life = more money & wasted time.

My inexperience and said shops rubbish customer service has truely pissed me off, I'm going to pen a letter (email) to Trek, as it is Trek's policy to ensure all bikes are ONLY sold via dealers so as to ensure good customer service and the right bike fit. I will give myself a stern talking too, I must not be so British and learn to complain more.
Rule #5 // Harden The Feck Up.
Rule #9 // If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a badass. Period.
Rule #12 // The correct number of bikes to own is n+1.
Rule #42 // A bike race shall never be preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run.

Comments

• redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    IIRC there are two LBS in Salisbury, maybe only one now.
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,695
    Had a mini heart attack then thinking there was some problem with the bits I sent you. :shock:
  • itboffin
    redvee wrote: