Help needed for newbie doing Dragon Ride Wales

mitchcumstein
mitchcumstein Posts: 8
Hi,
Just entered the Dragon Ride Wales, June '09.
I've got no road riding experience, so I need to get onto a training programme ASAP. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
I'm 32 years old, fairly fit, and do a bit of mountain biking at Afan Argoed.
Looking forward to any replies,
Cheers.

Comments

• Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Gradually* build your riding up so that you can comfortably manage a ride of 80% of your target distance or time over similar terrain by the month before your event. With other riders on the road during the event itself and the adrenaline flowing, the extra 20% shouldn't even be noticeable.

Also I'd strongly recommend joining in on local club runs and learning how to ride in a group on the road. You will save yourself a lot of energy on the day if you can correctly draught behing other riders and you'll be safer and less likely to come a cropper too.

* - normal recommendation is to increase weekly mileage by no more than 10% a week
  • Ken Night
    Ken Night Posts: 2,005
    Hi,
    I've got no road riding experience, I'm 32 years old, fairly fit, and do a bit of mountain biking at Afan Argoed.
    Cheers.

do lots of riding at afan, pushing hard as you climb to get to the start of all the rides

change your knobblies on the day for slicks, fill your Camelback with some Isostar, wear a new pr of baggies and your helmet with the biggest visor you can find....... :wink:
    “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best..." Ernest Hemingway
  • softlad
    softlad Posts: 3,513
    Hi,
    I've got no road riding experience, so I need to get onto a training programme ASAP. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    I'm 32 years old, fairly fit, and do a bit of mountain biking at Afan Argoed.
    Cheers.