Frames - colour selection?

giant_man
giant_man Posts: 6,878
edited December 2008 in Workshop
I was wondering what colour swatches - if any - bike companies choose the colours of their frames from. To explain, I am a graphic designer involved in print so I know if I want something a certain colour, I just reach for my Pantone swatches and choose from the vast selection of colours and tones from that, so do people in the bike trade do something similar?

Must be some sort of colour scheme selection process? Anyone know?

Comments

• softlad
    softlad Posts: 3,513
    RAL paint codes are fairly standard in the automotive area - not sure if they are also used in the cycle industry...?
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Painters use RAL codes - some can colour match these days but from previous experience of colour matching Pantone to paint colours, it can be quite tricky and gloss paint sometimes looks different to flat paper.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • Supergoose
    Supergoose Posts: 1,089
    Pantone also do metallic swatches.
    Rock 'n' Roule
  • giant_man
    Monty Dog wrote:
    Painters use RAL codes - some can colour match these days but from previous experience of colour matching Pantone to paint colours, it can be quite tricky and gloss paint sometimes looks different to flat paper.
    Absolutely. I'm sure it would be hard to transpose on different mediums.
  • giant_man
    Supergoose wrote:
    Yes indeed they do but again it's going on metal not paper stock as Monty says.
  • Supergoose
    Supergoose Posts: 1,089
    Supergoose wrote:
    Yes indeed they do but again it's going on metal not paper stock as Monty says.

For sure, but I thought perhaps a coated metallic swatch would better represent the finished article on a bike or car than a flat colour on uncoated stock no?
    Rock 'n' Roule
  • Crapaud
    Crapaud Posts: 2,483