Full suspension or not

scottkw2003
scottkw2003 Posts: 57
edited December 2008 in MTB buying advice
Hi all, i've been riding again for about 18 months and i am in the market for a new bike,
i currently ride a specialized hardtail and am looking to upgrade to perhaps a full suspension bike.
i've got about £1500 to spend but one small problem,i weigh 17.5 stone and want to know if these full supension bikes will carry me and also if they can be hardened any?
i've been looking at perhaps a gt force 1 that has a fox rp23 system any ideas would be very much appreciated

Comments

• Chris5.5
    Chris5.5 Posts: 154
    I recently bought an 08 Stumpjumper FSR Comp. I got it for just under £1200 with a years interest free credit as well. It van be had for nearer £1100 online but I wanted to buy local.

I weigh just under 18 Stone and the front and rear shocks are both air. The bike shop set it up initially for me and I have just spent £15 on a shock pump so I can make adjustments myself. The shocks easily adjust to my weight and getting the right sag has been no trouble at all.

I was initially put off a full suspension due to my weight, the staff in Leisure Lakes were excellent and spent plenty of time showing me different bikes and reassuring me that the bikes woulkd be plenty strong enough and adjustable.

The pitches front fork is coil so may need a harder spring to be fitted to suit your weight, air forks are much more adjustable
    Chris
  • Daz555
    Daz555 Posts: 3,976
    BoardinBob wrote:
    Just what I was thinking. A light all-mountain rig could be a good choice for a big rider I reckon.
    You only need two tools: WD40 and Duck Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use the WD40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the tape.
  • would such as http://www.leisurelakesbikes.com/produc ... px?&id=803 be good (depends if it's the right size for you) ?
    Start Weight 18st 13lbs March 2009
    17st 10lbs August 2009
    17st 4lbs October 2009