Indoor Trainers

CharlieBoyUK
CharlieBoyUK Posts: 10
edited January 2009 in The bottom bracket
Hello!

I wonder if anyone as any experience of indoor road trainers? I'm keen to maintain my cycle activity through the winter, but due to work am about to hit a period of getting home late and less likely to be cycle commuting. I had considered hitting the road at night but realistically I am less likely to get in the saddle and do this....so I am considering a trainer for my attic conversion, so I have somewhere to ride without fuss.

I have no experience of these at all and wondered if they are worth their while and if there are and brands or specific models to look for or avoid???

Many thanks,

Charlie

Comments

• Mike Healey
    Mike Healey Posts: 1,023
    Worthwhile? Yes, very.

Pitfalls? Boredom unless you have a specific programme of appropriate intervals.

Model? What is your budget? Get that sorted and see if local bike shops can offer you a ride on one or more of their stock.

If you have a coach, get programmes from him/her.

If you don't have a coach, find one locally via British Cycling or the Assoc. of British cycling Coaches websites

Valuable acccessories: heartrate monitor and cadence sensor.
    Organising the Bradford Kids Saturday Bike Club at the Richard Dunn Sports Centre since 1998
    http://www.facebook.com/groups/eastbradfordcyclingclub/
    http://www.facebook.com/groups/eastbradfordcyclingclub/
  • Will there be anyone in the room directly underneath your attic? I was asked if I had set up a washing machine in the living room by the people below :shock: So I now do it in the kitchen and end up facing the fridge and yes it can get very boring. As I have no TV in the kitchen I now listen to music instead which is actually better.
  • penugent
    penugent Posts: 913
    I think my turbo is the best bit of kit I ever purchased.

If you have a garage use that as you will overheat using the turbo indoors!!
  • Gotte
    Gotte Posts: 494