Total Beginner Advice Neede

beefcake2
beefcake2 Posts: 157
edited January 2009 in Road beginners
Hello

Just after a little advice. I have just bought a road bike for the first time. I used to go mountain biking but after being diagnosed with asthma my doctor recommended against being miles from anywhere on my own. Road cycling is much safer for me.

Anyway, I had quite a long lay off and have piled on the pounds. I am now around 18 stone. Just wandered what you might recommend in terms of distance, intensity etc. Also any comebacks for people taking the mic when I am out cycling would be good! :lol:

Thanks and merry Christmas!

Beefcake2

Comments

• Hi Mate,

I am also about 17.5 stone and started road cycling again about 2 years ago, as I wanted to get fit and lose some weight, I'm an awful lot fitter but not lost much weight, but I know why that is!!!!!

I can say that I've never had anybody take the p**s, when I've been out riding, not so that I could hear them anyway, I really could not careless if they do, I work as a Doorman and there is no form of personal abuse that I have n't had hurled at me at some point.

When I started riding again, I went out and did 30/40 minute rides to get used to being on the bike again. I did this half a dozen times over a couple of weeks. I then increased the time by about 10/15% a week for around 4 weeks.

After this I was able to get out on the bike quite comfortably for 3 or 4 hours at a comfortable pace usually with a tea/cake stop.I did London to Paris over 4 days during the summer.

The usual sort of distance that I do know is arouind 60/70 miles, my goal for 2009 is to do a century.

Above all the most important thing is to enjoy your cycling and build up as you feel comfortable. Good luck.
    weight.png