Flat Bars v Drops

Fat Kid
Fat Kid Posts: 28
edited December 2008 in Commuting chat
Hi all

Newbie here. I've been lurking for quite some time.

I would appreciate some advice. I'm thinking of upgrading to a road bike from my hybrid, but my biggest concern is the switch to drop bars. iI'm a fairly experienced rider, commuting about 20 miles a day. I find flat bars comfortable with a few postions when using bar ends and give me plenty of control. I'm concerned about my comfort and safety (and speed) when moving to drops.

What's the experience and recommendation of the forum?

Thanks

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    Fat Kid wrote:
    I'm concerned about my comfort and safety (and speed) when moving to drops.

Drops are more comfortable, safer and faster than flat bars.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • drops really come into their own for longer rides, you can tuck out of the wind and move your hands about, as to safety well compared to a flat bared hybrid, the drops will tend to give a more forward postion thus not as good sight lines as on a sit up and beg postion, most drop bikes are less easy to control at very slow speeds.

bottom line is they are very good bars and far from a danger, start on the tops, and hoods and work your way around the bars as you feel more comftable. with them.
  • Clever Pun
    Clever Pun Posts: 6,778
    Fat Kid wrote:

safer? how'd you work that out

when I switched years back your body position is shifted forward a bit and the bar are narrower so you'll be a little wobbly for 5 minutes but soon it'll be great. you have more positions to cycle in

do it
    Purveyor of sonic doom

Very Hairy Roadie - FCN 4
    Fixed Pista- FCN 5
    Beared Bromptonite - FCN 14
  • I commute almost wholly on the hoods. It's not a big deal.