Southern Sportive For Spring 2009?

Ricardo H
Ricardo H Posts: 167
I havent raced since i was a junior back in 1992. I started riding back on the road last spring after mtb'ing for a few years.
I've decided i need a goal to focus on over the winter so i am going to do a sportive next spring.
Any reccomendations? need something that is going to test me but not shatter my moral. Something in Sussex, surrey or kent would be best.

Comments

• ridgerider
    ridgerider Posts: 2,851
    The Mad Jack Fuller audax around a lumpy part of East Sussex in mid Feb offers a indication of how your winter training is going. The weather often plays a big part of the day!
    Half man, Half bike
  • Take a look at http://www.srs-events.cc/ they've a new spring sportive on the 15th March starting in Buress Hill in Mid Sussex. Their August route last year was a good tour around Sussex and Kent.
  • do you need to be a member of a club to be able to enter a sportive?
  • richa
    richa Posts: 1,631
    Ricardo H wrote:
    do you need to be a member of a club to be able to enter a sportive?
    Nope. Just go for it.
    Rich
  • Ricardo H and everybody else is welcome to enter the Burgess Hill Cyclosportives entries open on the 2nd of December via the Everyday Cycling website.

The Burgess Hill Springtime Classic Cyclosportive 15/03/09

The Burgess Hill "Rumble" Cyclosportive 30/08/09

http://www.srs-events.cc

Help us raise money for the Sussex Heart Charity

http://www.sussexheartcharity.org
  • I too am thinking about signing up for a cyclosportive. But I'm not sure.

I'm 46 years of age and restarted cycling about 4 years ago after a gap of about 20 years. I'm doing only about 2300 miles per year, mostly commutes. Longest ride so far was the Great Yorkshire Bike Ride (72 miles in June, fairly flat despite being in Yorkshire). I really enjoyed this.