Can slicks be used on light trails?

mympr02
mympr02 Posts: 9
edited November 2008 in MTB beginners
Hi I'm very new to mountain biking, I wanted to get fit and shed some unwanted weight. Up until now the only exercise I've done is heavy lifting at the gym, so my CV fitness is crap. I am 18 stone so thought road running was a bad idea on my knees and shins. So biking was the way to go. I bought a Carerra fury which had continental gravity tyres on it which I have learnt are crap on the road. I bought some Schwalbe city jets as I live in Thornhill, Dewsbury and there are aload of country roads and paths near me. Now for my question, sorry about the long winded approach, I've found there are some trails near by, disused rail ways, canal paths and the like and was wondering would these slicks be up to these light trails?

Cheers!
A Yorkshire mans advice to his son..." See all!!! Hear all!!! Say NOWT!!!!

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Yes, as long as is very light ie gravel and hardpacked surfaces. Anything rougher and you are lacking grip and tyre volume.
  • Thanks mate, The tyres are 1.95 and the continentals were 2.3 is that aswell as the nobbles that make the difference?
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The wider tyres give more grip, and more cushioning, though 1.95 is fairly wide for a slick. Give it a go where you ride, see how you fair. Wtahc that front wheel sliding though, hard to recover!
  • I did much the same as you. My old Scott was gathering dust in the garage, so I decided to revive it. Thinking I'd only ever ride round on the road and cyclepaths, I whipped off the knobblies that were on it and fitted some Schwalbe Marathons (awesome on road compared to the knobllies that were on it).

Then I decide that actually, I'd rather like to hit the trails. Cue slapping of forhead and "d'oh". Not to be deterred, I thougt I'll just try it and see what happens.