need riding buddy manchester area

southboy
southboy Posts: 8
edited November 2008 in MTB beginners
Hello all,

I am new to mtbing and have recently got myself a new bike, and have been going out for short rides on my own. My fitness is not great and this is one of the reasons i have become interested in mtbing. I am looking for somone who would like to go out on rides out with me possibly in the manchester area. I do not mind traveling a bit further afield and could really do with some advice. Really looking forward to some serious rides out but would like somone to go with, let me know.

Comments

• dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    Depending where in England's capital city you are, there's plenty of good trails easily accesible - the Derbyshire Peak District is only a half-hour south of the city centre, and you have the Llandegal trail centre an hour away at Wrexham.

To the North and North-East there's the Calderdale valleys (my stamping ground) which are only a train journey away (Get the Todmorden train from Victoria). And you've got some fairly easy riding at Rivington, just to the North-West of Bolton.

Always happy to show you around here but the riding at the moment is pretty grim - there's been so much water about that the trails are really heavy going. Mind you, there's nowt like jumping in at the deep end!!
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • ratty2k
    ratty2k Posts: 3,872
    Another rider here who rides a fair bit in the Peak district. Fitness not great either but the riding is fantastic up there... Some parts may be a bit intimidating at first, but plenty of folks go round there.
    Shout up when/ if you want to go and I'll see if I can sort sommat out...
    My Pics !

Whadda ya mean I dont believe in god?
    I talk to him everyday....
  • owen908
    owen908 Posts: 170