Servicing/buckled wheels...

x8swift9x
x8swift9x Posts: 268
edited November 2008 in Road beginners
Hello people buckled wheel issue. Basically a friend and I were forced to ride into the potholes/mud you find on the side of country lanes (that drivers use to give way to other cars) by some f**ker in a 'pimped' chav car who was driving way to fast and on our side of the narrow road!

Both wheels are slightly buckled and I am no bike mechanic...yet. I see that Evans cycles charge £15 to 'true' a wheel and as they charge 12.50 (wow) to mend a puncture it may not be such a hard job? I feel that it must be over priced?

My LBS is Blackboy hill cycles (bristol), yet I have never been in there.

Would just like to know if that is over priced and if anyone on here uses my LBS/could reccmend one in bristol

cheers
Road: Felt AR0, Di2
Touring/commute: Dolan Multricross
TT: PX Exocet Sold because it was like a sail in the wind (sh*t)

Comments

• My LBS just done 3 of my wheels at £12.50 each. So £15.00 is around the mark for truing. They might charge more if it is severley buckled or it may be beyond truing.
  • I tried to true a wheel once it was a disaster, it ended up shaped like a taco. I think this is a job that requires significantly more skill than mending a puncture. I would say local bike shop is the way to go, £15 doesn't seem too far wide of the mark.
  • batch78
    batch78 Posts: 1,320
    Its not that difficult if you get a good 'how to' and take your time.

I'm not sure I'd trust Evans myself, service can be a bit hit and miss depending on which part timer you get.

£15 is about the going rate, my LBS charges that and really wasn't very good, which is why I now do it myself.
  • Oh my lord that is so expensive. Where I live, they'll true a wheel for like 2 pound. :shock:
  • alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    x8swift9x wrote: