Chorus 2009 or SRAM Red / Force

boyfriday
boyfriday Posts: 103
edited December 2008 in Workshop
Hello all,

Just a quick query to gauge opinions and thoughts on this topic. I am in the process of giving my bike an overhaul and upgrading the groupset. Having used Shimano previously on the bike, i feel it's time for a change.

I have no experience as yet of either groupset and hope to get some before i make any decision. However, in the first instance i thought it would throw it open to gather some thoughts.

Options are:

Chorus 2009 (full groupset); or

SRAM Red (Chainset, brakes, front mech) / Force (Shifters, rear mech).

I'd be interested on anyone's thoughts and experiences (although i appreciate that 2009 Chorus isn't widely available yet, thoughts on Chorus 2008 would be welcome).

Many thanks in advance

Comments

• Well, in terms of quality, durability and effective performance I don't think there is much difference between Campy-Shimano and probably SRAM (although I've heard negative comments around about the Force-Rival groupsets).

It all goes down to practicality, once I got used, I quite like the Campagnolo system where you shift down with your thumb (or even with the little finger if you have hands on bar).
    Also, the new Chorus is 11 speed, which probably makes no difference, but it's always good to be on the edge of technological change, rather than being left behind... I assume Shimano and SRAM will follow the path in a year or two and you will be left with an "obsolete" groupset, although nearly new.

If money is no issue and you are the kind of rider who keeps his bike immaculate, I would consider the new Campagnolo Super Record, it's likely to retain good value in the long term... bit like buying a Golf over a Focus, I would say. But if you race or ride in bad condition,s then don't bother.