4 mile urban commute clothing

lizro
lizro Posts: 30
edited October 2008 in Commuting chat
Hi everyone - I'm new to this forum and to commuting to work. I am starting a new job on Monday and plan to ride the 8 miles round trip - I have been driving 34 miles roundtrip for 11 yrs! I will obviously need to wear 'suitable for the weather' clothing but will I get away with wearing my work clothes underneath? I am a fairly sedate rider and have 1 easy hill at the start then it will be level. Do you tend to change all your clothes when you get to work?

Comments

• It all depends how energetic you are - the sweat factor, if you will. 4 miles is not so far, and - if you are a fairly sedate rider - you should just about get away without a change of clothes.

I commute the exact same distance in my office clothes, but then I don't have much choice because of a lack of facilities at my office. If I cycle too fast (I don't tend to hold back, and have a big hill in my commute), I find that I am red-faced and a bit sweaty for the first twenty minutes at my desk. I can accept that, as I arrive in a much better mood because of the cycle.
  • knight2k
    knight2k Posts: 119
    Sounds like a very similar commute to mine except I start with a ferocious downhill to start and then flat after that for the rest of the way. Work clothes should be fine so long as you cover your hands and ears in this weather.

If I'm riding the either the racer or touring bike I'll tend to go for baggy shorts and knee warmers to protect the work trousers from the exposed chain. There's no need with the Booze Bike, which I've ridden in today, as it has a full chain guard.

You'll know soon enough if it's the right clothing and adapt accordingly.

Good luck and enjoy the ride.
  • girv73
    girv73 Posts: 842
    What's the dress code at your new job?