Advice regarding clothing for winter?

rsatterley
rsatterley Posts: 6
edited November 2008 in Commuting chat
Please be gentle with me. It's my first time! Posting, and cycling in winter in the UK, that is.

I've been looking at different sites (Wiggle, ActiveSportsKit, etc...). At the moment I have an Altura cycling jacket. Is it really better to have a 'base layer', or will a simple t-shirt and fleece suffice? What about windproof trousers and/or tights? Do they make a huge difference over regular jogging bottoms? And will regular long-fingered cycling gloves be enough for a UK winter ride? Or is it worth investing in proper winter ones?

Sorry to post such a long query! But any advice would be helpful. Thanks!

Comments

• Belv
    Belv Posts: 866
    First of all i would say it depends on your commute. I survived for years commuting with no bike-specific clothing doing a 10 mile round trip.
  • It's a 10 mile commute (takes me an hour). It's the first time I've cycled such a long distance in London. I lived in Montreal before, so didn't cycle in the winter.
  • In general the more technical clothing the better - you will notice the difference but it is a question of how much you think it is worth. I would say a baselayer is worth it as a tshirt will get sweaty then cold if you stop
    <a>road</a>
  • tailwindhome
    tailwindhome Posts: 18,878
    rsatterley wrote:
    Please be gentle with me. It's my first time! Posting, and cycling in winter in the UK, that is.

I've been looking at different sites (Wiggle, ActiveSportsKit, etc...). At the moment I have an Altura cycling jacket. Is it really better to have a 'base layer', or will a simple t-shirt and fleece suffice? What about windproof trousers and/or tights? Do they make a huge difference over regular jogging bottoms? And will regular long-fingered cycling gloves be enough for a UK winter ride? Or is it worth investing in proper winter ones?