which seatpost

gloves007uk
gloves007uk Posts: 33
edited November 2008 in MTB beginners
right here we go
first of all just like to say hi to every one on this site as i am new to all this
i am looking at upgrading most of my parts on my carrea banshee as its just too heavy the handle bars have gone and replaced with carbon fibre ones the forks have been changed for lighter ones the steam has been upgraded as well
looking at doing the wheels and rear shock very soon and the braking system
but first i want to do the seat post i pulled of the one that came with the bike and it reads 30.0mm
i am after a carbon fibre one but the only sizes i can find are 27.2mm,28.6mm which i rekon will be too small or 31.6mm here is the question will this one fit ?
if not where can i get a 30.0mm carbon fibre seat post from?
help anyone
chris

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    use a 27.2 and a shim.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • nicklouse wrote:
    use a 27.2 and a shim.

hi there cheers for that dont want to sound stupid what do you mean by a shim and where can i get hold of some?
    chris
  • how long have you had the bike? i thought the banshee was supposed to be a hard hitting FS bike? not sure if i'd like carbon on it if i'm honest....alu bends, carbon snaps!
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • bigbenj_08 wrote:
    how long have you had the bike? i thought the banshee was supposed to be a hard hitting FS bike? not sure if i'd like carbon on it if i'm honest....alu bends, carbon snaps!
    had the bike for around 5 months it gets used for riding x country to work and back 12 miles per day if carbon not the best replacement any body have any ideas what to use that is light and strong?
    chris
  • nicklouse wrote: