100mm travel...is it enough for all mountain riding?

ross_mcculloch
ross_mcculloch Posts: 478
edited October 2008 in MTB beginners
As the question says, is a 100mm fork enough on a hard hitting all mountain bike?

Comments

• BlackSpur
    BlackSpur Posts: 4,228
    Depends more on the fork that the amount of travel. A Rock Shox Argyle or wound-down Pike or similar would be fine. Really it comes down more to your skill that the amount of travel. What bike/fork?
    "Melancholy is incompatible with bicycling." ~James E. Starrs
  • craker
    craker Posts: 1,739
    Depends on your riding style I spose and what your happy to put up with by way of taking big hits.

I've no experience of lotssa suspension bikes but have ridden the alps (Morzine) on my underspecced hardtail, the worst of it was with tyres that were getting pinch flats @ 40 psi and made some bumpy routes unrideable at 50 psi. It gets very fatigueing if you've nothing to soak up the ruts.
  • I would say I ride my bike pretty hard on the downs most of the time and mine is 100mm at the back. Although I it works fine and I do like it a lot I have been thinking of swapping the frame recently for a 5-6 inch. Partly because my forks are 130mm.
    Just not sure it would be much better going down and probably harder going up.
  • BOYDIE
    BOYDIE Posts: 528
    Im only 10.5 stone, so I get away with murder on my Trance 2 with 100mm travel, I ride everything from red/blue and black routes,natural trails and cope with jumps and drops,like the above posts its more about the rider than the travel,the smoother you ride helps alot instead of bulldozing through everything,pick better smoother lines,I still ride my Fullsuss like my old hardtail. :wink: