Riding Buddy Required

pjh
pjh Posts: 204
edited March 2009 in Road beginners
I've been riding for 12 months now and riding solo almost all of the time.

Over the last month or two I've started to struggle with my motivation somewhat and I'm certain that riding in a group or with a regular riding buddy would help this.

I also see a lot of local riders riding 'solo' and wonder whether they might feel the same?

Strikes me that a 'riding buddies' section of this whole forum would be a good idea for those looking for a bit of company, motivation or even some inspiration :D

Personally I'm not into racing and so the club scene doesn't really appeal (I ride for fitness and to control my weight more than anything else).

I'm 42 and ride typically 25-45 miles a couple of times a week depending on time and normally avge about 16mph over rolling country. I also ride all year round except when it's raining cats & dogs or if there's ice about! I try to get out a bit more often during the summer evenings .. even just for a quick hour's blast.

So if anyone's interested let me know (I ride the Wansford, Oundle, Harringworth areas mostly). If not ... well nothing lost :) (but perhaps the forum moderators would consider a section like this for others?)

Cheers,

Paul.

It's great to be .....

Comments

• Nick6891
    Nick6891 Posts: 274
    when i ride solo i just listen to my mp3, some might say its dangerous but i have never had any probs cos i can still hear traffic and it keeps your mind of the fact you might be climbing a really long hill
  • Jd987
    Jd987 Posts: 9
    I agree with the original post. It would be very useful to have a forum section on biking buddies
  • pjh
    Thanks 'whyamihere'.

I'm not sure that's quite what I had in mind though. There's only one other person sharing my opinion so far, so perhaps there isn't the demand (or maybe they're just shy?) :D