Website for climbers

ugo.santalucia
ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,172
Hi all,

I'm putting together a website with reviews of "less known" climbs in the alps but not necessary only the alps. I've never done a website before and at the moment I'm just having a bit of fun, using a free host and domain, which seems to work fine. Have a look and let me know your thoughts

http://ridewithugo.xtreemhost.com/

Also, if you have a website somewhat related, I'd be grateful if you could stick a link, it helps with Google search, I'm told... I'd be happy to do the same

Any comment welcome :D
left the forum March 2023

Comments

• Crapaud
    Crapaud Posts: 2,483
    My first thought is 'where's that hill?' and 'what's it's stats?', it's a cracker! I can only imagine how tough it is and how much fun / terror there'd be coming back down. :)

Re. the web site: make the text and the pic on the home page a bit smaller - I'm having to scroll sideways to see the whole page.

Have a pic for each specific climb showing as much of the climb as possible - it's the image that'd inspire me to want to go climb it, stats are simply something to bore people with later.

Interesting idea, Ugo.
    A fanatic is one who can’t change his mind and won’t change the subject - Churchill
  • Crapaud wrote:
    My first thought is 'where's that hill?' and 'what's it's stats?', it's a cracker! I can only imagine how tough it is and how much fun / terror there'd be coming back down. :)

Re. the web site: make the text and the pic on the home page a bit smaller - I'm having to scroll sideways to see the whole page.

Have a pic for each specific climb showing as much of the climb as possible - it's the image that'd inspire me to want to go climb it, stats are simply something to bore people with later.

Interesting idea, Ugo.

Thanks, I have based the page size on how I see it with my browser, but you are right, it has to be more compact sideways.