Spinervals - Any Good?

skavanagh.bikeradar
skavanagh.bikeradar Posts: 1,097
edited November 2008 in Training, fitness and health
Looking at ways of livening up turbo sessions (3x1hr sessions per week) this winter, anyone using Spinervals DVDs? Any good?

Normally I just write the session I'm doing on a bit of paper and pin it up in the garage and then grind away without music or other distractrions. But this year will be different as I can't take any more of that! So any recommendations?

Comments

• I've been using the CycleOps/CTS dvds for a couple of years and would recommend them.. THe Power and Climbing ones especially. I'm no LA fan but those are really useful and explain WHY you're doing the work too.

Or if you don't want that level of intensity yet i've been getting on with a threshold session that runs thus:

5 min warm up
    10 mins tempo
    5 minute threshold interval
    3 minute recovery
    3 minute recovery
    3 minute recovery
    10 mins tempo
    5 mins cool down

This is where somebody comes on here and tells me that'll do nothing at all and i've wasted a month.
    "In many ways, my story was that of a raging, Christ-like figure who hauled himself off the cross, looked up at the Romans with blood in his eyes and said 'My turn, sock cookers'"

@gietvangent
  • I know what you mean! But thanks for the tip offs. I'll have a look at the DVDs. That sesson looks okay to me btw...but I'm no expert.
  • By the way, i'm doing that 3 times a week as you are mapping out your turbo sessions, with 2x 3 hour tempo/endurance rides at the weekends with Mondays and Fridays off.

The good thing about my set up is I can put a non-training DVD on while i'm doing that session!
    "In many ways, my story was that of a raging, Christ-like figure who hauled himself off the cross, looked up at the Romans with blood in his eyes and said 'My turn, sock cookers'"

@gietvangent