London Dynamo in Richmond Park - please be more considerate

I'm 46, my steel bike weighs 27 lbs without luggage, and a I cycle round Richmond Park at an average speed of 13-14 mph, about 2-3 feet from verge.

I've been doing this for about 20 years. I've had very little hassle with cars - they normally give me lots of space and they slow down and wait to overtake if they have to.

The people who don't slow down are unfortunately other cyclists - in particular London Dyanmo - a group of pro-racing wannabes who whizz around the park in carbon-fibre pelotons pretending they're on the open road in a race. They expect me and everyone else to pull over when they decide to come whizzing up announced. I've been yelled at, sworn at and had grim-faced people scrape by inches away from me.

:?

Guys - you're not in a race. You're sharing a narrow and often busy road with cars, cyclists of all ages and abilities and sometimes people practising wheelchair racing. You've got no right to ride at 25-30 mph in a 20 mph area. Nor do you have a right to insist on riding in a peloton on a narrow and busy road. Nor do have the right to insist that every other person on a bike defers to you.

I'll be sticking to my natural speed (to be honest I can't go much faster). I will also not be pushed into the verge so that you can live out your pro-biking fantasy in the park I've using for 20 years.

Please slow down and ride in singley file if the road conditions demand it. If you really can't bear to do that then head off to that new cycle track in East London and leave Richmond Park to more chilled out and considerate folk.

Thanks. :wink:

Andy

Comments

• toontra
    toontra Posts: 1,160
    I wonder why the authorities don't fine them. It wouldn't be hard to do - they're there every Saturday at the same time and always break the speed limit.

If they did, maybe they'd feel like they'd done their duty and leave other riders (like me) alone, :wink:

a serious case of small cogs