Etape du Tour 2009

McHattie
McHattie Posts: 146
The details for the 2009 Etape du Tour are due to be announced on Wednesday (22nd Oct), with Mont Ventoux heavily rumoured to be the main climb.

It would be great to know what entry routes riders are using - whether direct entry or tour companies. I was thinking of applying for direct entry through Cyclomundo (http://www.cyclomundo.com), but I have no previous experience of the Etape, so this may not be the best way.

Comments

• popette
    popette Posts: 2,089
    hiya,
    I used Cyclomundo this year and they were excellent - really helpful & the accommodation was great. I'm not sure about 2009 - I was hoping to do the etape in the middle of a family holiday but the price of villas in that region is quite steep so might not do that after all. I've already got my name down with cyclomundo for an entry only place though.

Did you read the bit in cycling weekly - first page from the editor - about the Etape. He mentioned that the rumour was that the Etape was ventoux and that it was a 110km route - the shortest ever etape?
  • McHattie
    McHattie Posts: 146
    Yes, I did read that, popette. As an Etape beginner, that sounded alright to me - and I have been wanting to ride Ventoux anyway.
  • I did the 2007 Foix - Loudenville with French Cycling Holidays. There were really good. I had no problems at all with them. It's expensive but then again they all are!!

Vive les All Blacks!!! [:D]
  • xio
    xio Posts: 212
    Even if it was 110km (which sounds unlikely), do not underestimate the mighty Ventoux. We rode it last year on a beautiful sunny day in September. We drove to Bedoin and rode it fresh from there. It was still roughly a 2hr climb, and about 25 degrees on top. Even after 80-90km and in the heat it would be tough I'd say..
  • 110 sounds way too short, even with the Ventoux involved.
  • i'm speculating but i suspect that cycling weekly may have meant 110 miles.