saddle sore

pauln08
pauln08 Posts: 2
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
Help, im new to road bikes and my saddle is uncomfortable. i have tried moving the saddle and it is now level, and the pain has not eased. The pain is in the perenium area. People have sugeggsted a change of saddle. I have looked on the net and a few have good reviews on the bike radar pages, like the specialized toupe gel,selle italia slr xc gel, bontrager race x lite and the selle italia t1, any thoughts and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• hopper1
    hopper1 Posts: 4,389
    I use a Fizik Arione, and find it very comfortable. :wink:
    Start with a budget, finish with a mortgage!
  • on the road
    on the road Posts: 5,631
    Have you tried changing the angle of the saddle?
  • carl_p
    carl_p Posts: 989
    It does take a while to get used a saddle so don't be too hastie in getting a new one just yet.

I had some discomfort in that area at the weekend and have since moved the saddle back by 1cm. It seems to have help although I haven't been on a long run yet to really test it. Take an Allen key with you on your next ride so you can make some adjustments as you go rather than enduring an excrutiating ride. Also assuming you have no vehicles close behind you, don't be afraid to stand out of the saddle for a few moments. It really does help.
    Specialized Venge S Works
    Cannondale Synapse
    Enigma Etape
    Genesis Flyer Single Speed

Turn the corner, rub my eyes and hope the world will last...
  • alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    After 15 years of having a sore backside and having tried maybe a dozen saddles, I found Selle Anatomica; it is pricey (not as pricey as top of the range Brooks), retro, and comes from the US (no customs duties to pay, they state the value as $13, delivered in 5 days), but it has really revolutionised my cycling enjoyment.
  • JF
    JF Posts: 11