derailier chain slips off: What could be wrong?

fairweatherbiker
fairweatherbiker Posts: 116
edited October 2008 in The workshop
Hi new
I'm new to biking, and I think I've adjusted my derailier correctly, I can get all the gears with little or no noise, however - the slightest backpedal - or even wheeling the bike backwards when the gear lever position doesn't match the rear cog causes the chain to slip out of the lower jocky wheel. The only way I can ever get the chain back is to remove the lower jocky wheel and thread the chain back in, while fighting the spring mechanism. Its a messy 10-minute job I've done by the roadside too many times to be fun. I can't work out how the chain can slip out in the first place as its impossible to get back in with the jocky wheel in place. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what might be wrong?
Non-Sexist, Non-Racist, Non-Violent Egalitarian Chess: 32 grey pawns all on the same side

Comments

• Big Red S
    Big Red S Posts: 26,890
    When you're pedalling forwards, does the drivetrain make any noise? Halfway down the cage there's a bar across the gap, which keeps the chain in place. Are you running the chain on the correct side of it?

Does the chain skip at all under normal pedalling?

Can you get a photo of the mech set up (and, ideally, after the chain's come off)?
  • Hardly any noise pedalling forwards, tyre noise on the road is more noticable. Chaing occasionally slips to a higher gear - but thats ususally after I've changed and not quite got the lever in position.

I'm a bit lost with the terminology - what is a cage - do you mean the spring-loaded derailier hanger that holds the 2 jocky wheels? - there is a small bar which stops the chain coming out - and its impossible to put the chain back in because of that bar (without removing the jocky wheel)

I'll look when I leave work and see if there is anything between the 2 wheels - and get a photo.