Panniers or backpack on my first road bike

trevtherev
trevtherev Posts: 372
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
I have been riding a ridgeback day 01 for some 2 years and I am soon to purchase a road bike through cycle to work govment scheme. I am considering not puting rack/panniers on the rear of the bike but rather buying a backpack such as this....instead
http://www.edinburghbicycle.com/ebwPNLq ... 119c003128
I need a backpack as I use the bike to commute all week and it contains shirt/sock/glove/lunch etc. Will I feel unbalanced with a backpack? the bike I am considering is the Giant Defy 1.0

"Cycling is like a church - many attend, but few understand."
http://www.flickr.com/photos/trevtherev ... 338579801/
www.runningfree.co.uk

Comments

• i am definatly no expert but i always hear that you don't really want any weight on you body when cycling. So i think panniers are the way to go.
  • i've experimented with both and hate the feeling of a bike unbalanced by panniers... i only ever now use a rucksack (every day), which doesn't bother me even fully laden...
  • Trev, I have the Revolution Stow Light rucksack from the Edinburgh Bike Co-op and its a cracking little rucksack. It's the one a size down from that one in your link.

These are made by Vaude and have a nice comfy back system that allows the air to circulate through. The Stow Light feels nice and balanced in use on the bike, although I don't carry anything heavy in it, just some food and a bottle of water, wallet, keys etc on my commute. The Revolution sacks are also Camelback compatible which is a nice bonus.

For the money, I reckon they are worth every penny and more.

Once you have used one it's not hard to see why they always get rave reviews. 8)
    Ethernet (noun): Something used to catch the etherbunny.
    Road : Pinarello FP1 | MTB : Cube Acid 2010
  • carl_p
    carl_p Posts: 989
    Rucksack IMO :

1. Can be put to other uses otherthan your cycling